Overview

Session Resume provides users with the ability to resume a disconnected or interrupted Silo session, for up to 30 minutes from the time of a disconnect event.  


Technical Details

When Silo loses network connectivity, Session Resume informs the user that it is trying to reconnect to resume the session.  There is an initial attempt at reconnection followed by additional attempts, at a preset frequency, until Silo has either reconnected or the time limit has been reached.  


The default on/off setting for Session Resume is on (or enabled) and the feature comes fully functional, requiring no installation or configuration steps by the customer. However, customers can employ registry changes to modify Session Resume reconnection options and can also can also disable Session Resume via the Silo Admin Console Silo policy.  These registry settings are discussed below.

Prerequisites

1.  A Windows installation of Silo; Session Resume is for Windows only.

2.  The Silo native client must be installed, version 2.9.10 or later.

User Interface (UI) Experience 

The UI experience is limited to informational pop-up windows detailing the Silo disconnection and the reconnection process.

The first informational pop-up window is generated as soon as Silo detects an interruption and begins the initial attempt at reconnection.
 

 

If the initial reconnection attempt is not successful, then Silo continues to  reconnecting on a preset frequency, with a second informational pop-up window being displayed, prior to each reconnection attempt, to highlight the process.

 



Note: Please see the Session Resume Registry Entries section below for details on how to set the frequency for attempting reconnection.


Admin Console Configuration

Session Resume can be disabled/re-enabled from the Session Resume policy page.

 

From the Silo Admin Console navigate to the Session Resume policy page.

 

Session Resume Policy: Silo Admin > Policies > Access & Authentication > Session Resume  

 

To disable: Select “Disable Session Resume” on the Session Resume policy page, then click Save. 

To enable: Select “Enable Session Resume” on the Session Resume policy page, then click Save.

  



Registry Settings (Optional)


Session Resume Registry Entries 

Session Resume default settings can be changed by the customer by adding the registry entries, detailed in the table below.

  

Key:  HKCU\Software\Authentic8. Inc.\Authentic8

 

 

#

 
 

Name

 
 

Type

 
 

Value

 
 

Default

 
 1
 SessionReconnect
 
 DWORD
 
0: disable
1: enable

1
 2
 AutoReconnectMaxCount

 DWORD

 value in seconds
2
 3
 AutoReconnectTimeInterval
 DWORD
 
 value in seconds
5 sec
 4
 ReconnectWaitTime
 
 DWORD
 
 value in seconds
 
5 sec
 5
 ReconnectWaitTimeIncrement
 
 DWORD
 
value in seconds
 
 5 sec

 



Sample Registry Entries for Session Resume

 
 [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\FeatureControl\FEATURE_BROWSER_EMULATION]
 "SessionReconnect"=dword:00000001
 
 [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\FeatureControl\FEATURE_SSLUX]
 "AutoReconnectMaxCount"=dword:00000004
 
 [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\FeatureControl\FEATURE_BROWSER_EMULATION]
 "AutoReconnectTimeInterval"=dword:00000010
 
 [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\FeatureControl\FEATURE_SSLUX]
 "ReconnectWaitTime"=dword:00000010
 
 [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\FeatureControl\FEATURE_SSLUX]
 "ReconnectWaitTimeIncrement"=dword:00000010

 

Additional Notes

Please contact Support if you have any additional questions or concerns.